National Advisory Council

print thisprint this

About the Council

The National Advisory Council, composed of approximately 70 attorneys, judges, business, and community leaders from throughout the nation, works to strengthen the law school’s national reputation and influence.   The National Advisory Council advises the law school on state and national issues affecting legal education and assists the Dean and the law school in the areas of admissions and placement, development, and reputation.   Members of the National Advisory Council often host law school receptions in their areas of the country.


Mr. Richard P. Stovsky ’83
US Private Company  Services Leader
Cleveland, OH

Members of the Council 2014 - 2015


Mr. Thomas L. Aries ’71
The Aries Organization, Inc.
Chicago, IL

Mr. James S. Aussem ’75
Cavitch, Familo & Durkin
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Everett Bellamy ’80
Adjunct Professor of Law (Retired)
Georgetown University Law Center
Silver Spring, MD

Ms. Sheryl King Benford ’79
Gen. Counsel & Deputy Gen. Manager-Legal Affairs
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Brent M. Buckley ’82
Managing Partner
Buckley King
Cleveland, OH

Mr. David Paul Burke ’80
Carlton Fields Jorden Burt
Tampa, FL

Mr. Peter A. Carfagna
Executive in Residence at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
Visiting Lecturer in Sports Law at Harvard Law School
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Michael L. Climaco ’72
Tucker Ellis LLP
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Timothy J. Cosgrove ’87
Squire Patton Boggs
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Matthew V. Crawford ’94
President, CEO & Director
Park-Ohio Industries, Inc.
Cleveland, OH
Ms. Teresa Demchak ’76
Managing Partner (Retired)
Goldstein, Demchak, Baller, Borgen & Dardarian
Houston, TX

Mr. Thomas E. Downey, Jr. ’74
Downey & Murray LLC
Englewood, CO

Mr. W. Harding Drane, Jr. ’78
Deputy Attorney General
State of Delaware
Wilmington, DE

Mr. Charles R. Emrick, Jr. ’58
Senior Partner (Retired)
Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP and Business Advisor
Cleveland, OH

Ms. Georgia A. Froelich ’84
Senior Vice President
Hawthorn, a Division of PNC Bank
Cleveland, OH

Honorable Marcia L. Fudge ’83
U.S. House of Representatives (11th District)
Washington, DC

Honorable Bohdan A. Futey ’68
Senior Judge, U.S. Court of Federal Claims
Washington, DC

Mr. Steven J. German ’92
Adelman German, P.L.C.
Scottsdale, AZ

Mr. Michael E. Gibbons ’82
Senior Managing Director and Principal
Brown Gibbons Lang & Company
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Thomas O. Gorman ’73
Dorsey and Whitney LLP
Washington, DC

Mr. Charles E. Harris II ’03
Mayer Brown LLP
Chicago, IL
Ms. Kathryn Burrer Hyer ’82
Partner (Retired)
Illinois Emerging Technologies Fund
Chicago, IL

Mr. Larry H. James ’77
Crabbe, Brown & James LLP
Columbus, OH

Mr. Timothy G. Kasparek ’74
Private Practice
Goodyear, AZ

Mr. Randall F. Kender ’85
Senior Vice President
Fox Group
Beverly Hills. CA

Mr. Peter W. Klein ’81
Partner & General Counsel
Brockway Moran & Partners, Inc.
Boca Raton, FL

Ms. Jane Koehl-Colling ’96
Chief-Global Operations
Squire Patton Boggs
Cleveland, OH

Steven B. Lesser ’79
Becker & Poliakoff
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Mr. David M. Levin  ’72
North Coast Capital Advisors
Chicago, IL

Kenneth B. Liffman ’79
Managing Principal
McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., L.P.A.
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Terrence G. Linnert ’75
Executive Vice President, Administration and General Counsel (Retired)
Goodrich Corporation
Charlotte, NC

Ms. Nanette W. Mantell ’77
Office Managing Partner
Reed Smith LLP
Princeton, NJ

Professor Lizabeth A. Moody
Distinguished University Professor and Dean Emerita
Stetson University College of Law
St. Petersburg, FL

Mr. Daniel R. Mordarski ’94
Law Offices of Daniel R. Mordarski
Columbus, OH

Mr. Joseph J. Morford
Managing Partner
Tucker Ellis LLP
Cleveland, OH

Ms. Evelyn L. Moya ’97
Law Office of Evelyn L. Moya
Sarasota, FL

Honorable Maureen O'Connor ’80
Chief Justice
Supreme Court of Ohio
Columbus, OH

Ms. Lillian Ortiz ’99
Private Practice
Mastic, NY

Mr. Steven W. Percy ’79
Former Chairman & CEO
BP America, Inc.
Akron, OH

Mr. Richard S. Pietch ’79
Senior Vice President & General Counsel
ElectroLux North America
Charlotte, NC

Honorable Dan A. Polster
Judge, United States District Court
Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Steven Potash ’78
Chief Executive Officer
OverDrive, Inc.
Cleveland, OH
Mr. William E. Powers, Jr. ’68
Private Practice
Tallahassee, FL

Ms. Elizabeth A. Pugh ’78
General Counsel
Library of Congress
Washington, DC

Mr. Kenneth C. Ricci ’86
Directional Aviation Capital
Richmond Heights, OH

Mr. Alan Jay Rom ’72
Rom Law P.C.
Somerville, MA

Mr. Isam Salah ’76
King & Spalding LLP
New York, NY

Mr. Alfonso P. Sanchez ’68
The Sanchez Group
Avon Lake, OH

Mr. Richard A. Schloss ’02
Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi LLP
Los Angeles, CA

Mark A. Smolik
Vice President, General Counsel & Compliance Officer
Westerville, OH

Mr. Jack A. Staph ’73
Jack A. Staph & Associates
Pepper Pike, OH

Professor Carl L. Stern ’66
Emeritus Professor
School of Media and Public Affairs
George Washington University
Washington, DC

Honorable Louis Stokes ’53
Former U.S. Congressman
Retired of Counsel, Squire Patton Boggs
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Richard P. Stovsky ’83
US Private Company  Services Leader
Cleveland, OH

Mr. James W. Theobald ’77
Hirschler Fleischer
Richmond, VA

Mr. James A. Thomas ’63
Chairman of the Board, President and
Chief Executive Officer
Thomas Properties Group, LLC
Los Angeles, CA

Donna Zapis Thomas
Director, Rockport Retirement Community
Rocky River, OH
Mr. P. Kelly Tompkins ’81
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Cliff Natural Resources Inc.
Cleveland, OH

Mr. David C. Weiner
Dinn, Hochman & Potter, LLC
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Robert D. Weisman ’75
Ice Miller LLP
Columbus, OH

Honorable Lesley Wells ’74
Senior Judge
United States District Court
Northern District of Ohio
Cleveland, OH

Mr. F. Scott Wilson ’81
Vice President & General Counsel
Pratt & Whitney, A United Technologies Corporation
East Hartford, CT

Ms. Margaret W. Wong
Margaret Wong & Associates Co., LPA
Cleveland, OH