Monday Morning Message 10.1.2018: "First Monday in October. Last Friday in October."

Posted 2018-10-01 9:44am

“As I returned to Washington DC and drove past the wonderful monuments to outstanding Americans, I thought about the amazing monumental recipients of the Cleveland-Marshall Hall of Fame that I am honored to be among. The history of our law school’s graduates is truly inspiring.”  - Elizabeth Pugh ’78, General Counsel, Library of Congress, 2017 Hall of Fame Inductee

Today, the U.S. Supreme Court starts its new term - the first Monday in October- an historical tradition that goes back to 1917. The backdrop is the dramatic politics of the moment.

Every day, we balance the pull of the past, the grip of the present, and the power of the future. Our success as a law school will be determined by our ability to balance our focus between the past, present and future.

We honor our historic past; we teach law and live justice in the moment; and we plan our innovative future.

That is why our Cleveland-Marshall College of Law (C|M|LAW) Hall of Fame is so important to who we are.

Please join us on the last Friday in OctoberOctober 26, 5:30-8pm for our 2nd Annual C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Celebration honoring our 2018 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Honorees.

 Among those we will honor are Professor Lizabeth Moody, long-time Cleveland-Marshall professor who was one of only seven women in her class at Yale Law School, and co-founder of the Women’s Law Fund, the first law firm in America to specialize in sex discrimination cases; Professor Susan Becker ’83, long-time Cleveland-Marshall professor who maintained a pro bono practice as legal counsel to individuals who encountered discrimination, was an expert witness in the groundbreaking Obergefell marriage equality litigation, and now serves in a volunteer capacity as General Counsel to the Ohio ACLU; and Carol Emerling ’55, the first woman editor of our Law Review, the first woman to head a public defender’s office, the first woman to head a Federal Trade Commission regional office, and the first woman to serve as Secretary of the Corporation for American Home Products which became Phizer Pharmaceuticals.

 The annual Hall of Fame Celebration is also our single best opportunity this year to raise funds for student scholarships. If you are thinking about supporting us, but usually wait until the end of the year, I am respectfully asking you to give now instead, and to join us for this fantastic event if you can.

 Please make a contribution or pledge this week to our October Hall of Fame celebration of an amount ranging from $120 to $12,000.  Below are the different levels of support for our Hall of Fame Celebration. Please visit to purchase tickets or sponsorships.

If you are not able to attend, please give here: Believe in C|M|LAW. Give Now. or send me an email with your pledge at:  We thank you! 

Please see below for more information about our October 26 Hall of Fame Celebration.

Dean Lee Fisher and the faculty and staff of Cleveland-Marshall College of Law are pleased to invite you to attend the 2018 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Induction Celebration.


The C|M|LAW Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to honor the outstanding contributions to the success and prestige of our law school by distinguished alumni, faculty, staff, friends and community leaders. 


Friday, October 26, 2018 
5:30 - 8:00 p.m.
Business casual, hors d’oeuvre reception 
Program begins at 6:15 p.m.


Cleveland-Marshall College of Law (Atrium Level) 
1801 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Complimentary valet parking available


Teresa Metcalf Beasley ’92 
Professor Emerita Susan J. Becker ’83 
Michael L. Climaco ’72 
Carol G. Emerling ’55 
Anthony J. Garofoli ’61 *
Terry H. Gilbert ’73
Larry H. James ’77 
Dennis R. Lansdowne ’81 
Kenneth B. Liffman ’79 
Howard D. Mishkind ’80 
Professor Lizabeth A. Moody
Sandra M. Natran
Judge Donald C. Nugent ’74 
Richard W. Pogue 
Richard T. Reminger, Sr. ’57 
Kenneth C. Ricci ’86 

Professor Emeritus Alan Miles Ruben
Judge John J. Russo ’92



Leader on the Rise- Alana Jochum ‘10

Dean Emeritus Steven H. Steinglass 
Judge Joan Synenberg ’87 
Donna Zapis Thomas ’87 
James A. Thomas ’63 
Marilyn Tobocman ’83 * 
Dean Frederic P. White, Jr. 
Iris S. Wolstein 
Leonard D. Young ’74 

Three inductees from the 2017 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Class will accept their honor at the 2018 Induction Celebration. Note: The family of Daniel McCarthy will accept his honor.


Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge ’83 

Mayor Frank G. Jackson ’83 
Daniel R. McCarthy, Sr. ’54 *

* Deceased




Visit to purchase tickets or sponsorships.

All proceeds will be used to support student scholarships.

Hall of Fame Champion ($120,000)
• Event title sponsor
• Innumerable Celebration tickets
• 2 full-page inside and back cover ads in Celebration program
• Event signage recognition 
• Program and website listing 
• Speaking opportunity

Dean's Circle ($25,000)
• 16 Celebration tickets 
• Full-page ad with preferred placement in Celebration program
• Event signage recognition 
• Program and website listing

120 Society ($12,000)
• 10 Celebration tickets 
• Full-page ad in Celebration program
• Event signage recognition 
• Program and website listing

Managing Partner ($5,000)
• 6 Celebration tickets
• 1/2-page ad in Celebration program
• Event signage recognition 
• Program and website listing

Partner ($1,200)
• 4 Celebration tickets
• Program and website listing

Individual Supporter ($120)
• 1 Celebration ticket

Program Ads:
Full-page ad
: $3,000 (6.75" x 9", Full color)
Half-page ad: $1,500 (6.75" x 4.375", Full color)
Quarter-page ad: $750 (3.25" x 4.375", Full color)

Can't attend? Consider contributing your sponsorship directly to student scholarships at


For more information on sponsorships, program ads and individual tickets, contact Amy Miller at or 216.687.2537.


Have a great day…Have a great week.

My best,


For copies of past messages, please go to this link: Monday Morning Messages

Subscribe to Dean's Monday Morning Message

Subscribe to C|M|Law Newsletter

My views in all my Monday Morning Messages are my personal views alone and do not reflect the views of our Law School or our University.

  • Share