Monday Morning Message 7.9.2018: “Announcing our 2018 Hall of Fame Class!”

Posted 2018-07-09 10:49am

“Do not go where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”  -Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Standing in the hall of fame…. Cause you burn with the brightest flame.” -  “Hall of Fame”, The Script

Last year, our 120th anniversary, we launched the Cleveland-Marshall College of Law (C|M|LAW) Hall of Fame.

Each year, we honor those living and deceased leaders who have contributed to our past, present, and/or future success. While the vast majority of our honorees are current and past alumni, we also honor current and past community leaders who have contributed to our success, and past faculty, deans, and staff. Current full-time faculty and staff are not eligible.

As we celebrate America’s birthday this week, I want to briefly reflect on the confluence of three events this past week- the resignation of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy, the tragic shootings of 5 journalists at the 

See last year’s inductees here:  2017 C|M|LAW Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

This year, our Hall of Fame Committee, consisting of some past Hall of Fame inductees and other alumni, faculty, and staff, reviewed over 200 names, all of them worthy of future inclusion in the Hall of Fame. We are very fortunate that there is no shortage of worthy individuals, and we look forward to inducting many other extraordinary people next year and in future years.

Please join us on Friday, October 26, 5:30-8pm for our 2nd Annual C|M|LAW Hall of Fame CelebrationThis is our single best opportunity to raise funds for student scholarships during the entire year.

I am very pleased to announce this year’s 2018 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Honorees Please see the honorees below.


  • Teresa Metcalf Beasley '92  
    Partner, Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP     
  • Professor Emerita Susan J. Becker '83   
    Public Interest Leader-in-Residence & Professor of Law Emerita, 
    Cleveland-Marshall College of Law    
  • Michael L. Climaco '72          
    Attorney at Law; Former Chair, CSU Board of Trustees                                    
  • Carol G. Emerling '55  
    Corporation Secretary & Attorney (Retired), American Home Products Corporation 
  • Anthony J. Garofoli '61 (deceased)
    Partner, Climaco, Wilcox, Peca, Tarantino & Garofoli Co., LPA   
  • Terry H. Gilbert '73
    Partner, Friedman & Gilbert
  • Larry H. James '77  
    Managing Partner, Crabbe, Brown & James LLP           
  • Dennis R. Lansdowne '81       
    Partner, Spangenberg, Shibley & Liber LLP
  • Kenneth B. Liffman '79        
    President and Chairman of the Board, McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA
  • Howard D. Mishkind '80    
    Partner, Mishkind Kulwicki Law Co., LPA
  • Professor Lizabeth A. Moody
    Dean Emerita, Stetson University College of Law; 
    Former Professor of Law, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law    
  • Sandra M. Natran
    Administrative Coordinator (Retired), Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Judge Donald C. Nugent '74      
    Judge, United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio
  • Richard W. Pogue          
    Senior Advisor & Former Managing Partner, Jones Day
  • Richard T. Reminger, Sr. '57 
    Founder & Managing Partner and Chief Executive Officer (Retired), Reminger Co., LPA 
  • Kenneth C. Ricci '86  
    Principal, Directional Aviation Capital 
  • Professor Emeritus Alan Miles Ruben
    Professor of Law (Retired), Cleveland-Marshall College of Law      
  • Judge John J. Russo ‘92       
    Administrative and Presiding Judge, Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court
  • Dean Emeritus Steven H. Steinglass          
    12th Dean and Professor of Law Emeritus, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Judge Joan Synenberg '87      
    Judge, Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court
  • Donna Zapis Thomas '87       
    Co-Founder & Managing General Partner, Rockport Retirement Community
  • James A. Thomas '63
    Chairman and CEO, Thomas Properties Group, LLC                        
  • Marilyn Tobocman '83 (deceased)     
    Principal Attorney/Senior Litigator, Ohio Attorney General’s Office Civil Rights Section
  • Dean Frederic P. White, Jr.       
    Dean Emeritus, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law; 
    Former Associate Dean, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • Iris S. Wolstein 
    CEO, Heritage Development Co.
  • Leonard D. Young '74   
    Founder & President, Leonard D. Young Co., LLC

Three inductees from the 2017 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Class will accept their honor at the 2018 Induction Celebration. Note: A representative of the family of Daniel McCarthy will accept his honor.

  • Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge ’83    
    U.S. House of Representatives, Ohio’s 11th Congressional District 
  • Mayor Frank G. Jackson ’83   
    Mayor, City of Cleveland
  • Daniel R. McCarthy, Sr. ’54 (deceased)    
    Founder & Senior Partner, McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA

Have a great week.

My best,

For copies of past messages, please go to this link: Monday Morning Messages

Subscribe to Dean's Monday Morning Message

Subscribe to C|M|Law Newsletter

My views in all my Monday Morning Messages are my personal views alone and do not reflect the views of our Law School or our University.

  • Share